0330 123 0723

Board of Directors

Meet our Board of Directors

Our Directors are independent in character and judgement, are free of any relationship or circumstance which could interfere with the exercise of their judgement and bring wide and varied commercial experience to Board deliberations, continuing to represent the interests of the Society’s members.

Board appointments are subject to ratification by a members' vote at the Society's AGM.

Click here to view the letter of appointment for a Non Executive Director.


Alan Harris

Alan Harris

Alan Harris joined the Board in 2011 and appointed as Chairman on 1 December 2017. Alan is a Chartered Insurer and a Fellow of the Chartered Insurance Institute. He holds an MBA from City University Business School and is an alumnus of the Advanced Management Programme at Harvard Business School. Alan is the former Operations Director of NFU Mutual and was also Chief Executive of Avon Insurance PLC. Alan holds Non-Executive roles with three Aegon companies and is a Governor and Director of Prince Henry’s High School Academy Trust.

Committees: Board Risk & Compliance, Audit, Chairman’s & Nominations (Chairman) and Remuneration


Valerie Dias web

Valerie Dias
Deputy Chairman

Valerie Dias joined the Board in 2015 and was appointed as Deputy Chairman on 1 December 2017. Until September 2016, Valerie was the Chief Risk & Compliance Officer and a member of the Executive team at Visa Europe. Valerie, a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Certified Accountants, previously held the position of Chief Financial Officer from 1999 to 2006 at Visa Europe. She is a Non-Executive Director at Hastings Insurance Services Limited, a Trustee at the Board of the Chartered Management Institute (CMI) where she also chairs its Audit Committee and a Trustee at the Board of UFI (University for Industry).

Committees: Board Risk & Compliance, Audit (Chairman) and Chairman's & Nominations


Richard Norrington web

Richard Norrington
MA (Hons)
Chief Executive

Richard Norrington was appointed to the Board on 30 November 2016 and became Chief Executive Officer on 1 December 2016, following the announcement of Paul Winter’s retirement. Richard has extensive leadership experience in the financial services sector, in a career spanning nearly three decades. He spent 16 years with Barclays Bank PLC, and, more recently, ten years at Clydesdale & Yorkshire Bank where as regional director he had responsibility for the East of England area.

Committees: Board Risk & Compliance, Audit, Chairman’s & Nominations, Executive Risk, Retail Credit Risk, Operational & Conduct Risk, Remuneration and Assets & Liabilities


Trevor Slater

Trevor Slater
Finance Director

Trevor Slater, who was previously Chief Accountant at Clydesdale Bank for ten years, has over 30 years’ experience in the financial services industry. Trevor has built a wealth of expertise in technical accounting and change implementation. He takes on responsibility for managing the accounting and financial control functions at the Society, while maintaining relationships with industry regulators and auditors.

Committees: Retail Credit Risk, Operational & Conduct Risk, Assets & Liabilities, Executive Risk


Ian Brighton

Ian Brighton
Operations Director

Ian Brighton was appointed to the Board on 1 May 2018 as Operations Director. Ian has extensive knowledge of the mortgage and financial services sectors particularly in sales and operations. In a career across nearly three decades, 27 years have been spent within the building society sector - the first six years of which were spent with the then Halifax Building Society. Ian joined the Society in 1995 and became a member of the Executive Team in 2006. Ian holds various mortgage qualifications including a Diploma in Mortgage Lending and is an alumnus of the Advanced Management Programme at Cranfield School of Management.

Committees: Executive Risk, Retail Credit Risk (Chairman), Operational & Conduct Risk (Chairman), and Assets & Liabilities.

Peter Elcock web

Peter Elcock
Non Executive Director

Peter Elcock joined the Board on 1 June 2015 and is Executive Director and Chief Risk Officer at Charter Court Financial Services Group Ltd (CCFS) and Board member of all CCFS group companies. He was also Chief Risk Officer at the Coventry Building Society, and prior to this spent 27 years at Barclays. Peter founded Cornhill Consulting, which provides specialist credit, liquidity, capital and regulatory risk consultancy and software to building societies and banks in the UK and overseas. Peter is an Associate of the Chartered Institute of Bankers, has a Finance Degree and an MBA from Exeter University.

Committees: Board Risk & Compliance, Audit, Pension and Remuneration (Chairman)


Steve Liddell web sml

Steve Liddell
Non Executive Director

Steve Liddell was appointed to the Board on 30 November 2017.  He has a degree from Nottingham University and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. He is a financial services partner at Mazars LLP.  He previously worked for many years at KPMG and was the senior partner at the firm’s Ipswich office from 2002-06.  He is a co-opted member of the Finance and Audit Committee of the Seckford Foundation. Steve lives locally and has over 30 years’ experience in working with regulated businesses.

Committees: Board Risk & Compliance, Audit, Remuneration and Assets & Liabilities


Steve Reid web

Steve Reid
Non Executive Director

Steve Reid was appointed to the Board in November 2016. Steve has spent his entire career in the Financial Services industry. During this time he has held Executive roles with the Woolwich Building Society, Barclays Bank PLC, National Australia Group Europe and latterly as CEO of Allied Irish Bank (UK). Steve is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Bankers in Scotland.

Committees: Board Risk & Compliance (Chairman), Remuneration and Retail Credit Risk


Fiona Ryder web

Fiona Ryder
Non Executive Director

Fiona Ryder, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, was appointed to the Board on 29 November 2018. Fiona is an award-winning senior media executive with over 25 years’ experience across the broadcasting, digital and commercial sectors, developing creative content for national and multi-national clients. She was previously the founding CEO of instore marketing and communications company, The Cube Group before its profitable sale in 2006 and more recently the Managing Director of Archant’s local TV station for Norwich and environs. Fiona is President of the Norfolk Chamber of Commerce, Honorary Treasurer of Royal Television Society East and Managing Director of TCD Media. 


Michelle Tennens web

Michelle Tennens
FCIM, DipM, DipTh
Non-Executive Director & Senior Independent Director

Michelle Tennens, a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Marketing, joined the Board in 2006 and is the Society's Senior Independent Director focusing on achieving a fair deal for members. As a marketing specialist with a wide range of experience in retail and consumer marketing, she works closely with our team on strategic marketing and sales issues. She is the Founding Director of redPepper Marketing Ltd, a local digital marketing communications agency, who work with business owners and organisations across East Anglia to energise, propel and transform their businesses through excellence in marketing.

Committees: Board Risk & Compliance, Chairman’s & Nominations and Operational & Conduct Risk

Your home may be repossessed if you do not keep up repayments on your mortgage.